Quincy Jones

*Usher, Ludacris, Akon and Jamie Foxx are among the star-studded artists taking part in a new album celebrating the music of multi-Grammy winning producer, composer and arranger Quincy Jones.

“Q: Soul Bossa Nostra,” due this spring from Interscope Records, features contemporary versions of popular recordings from Jones’ massive catalog. released.

Other artists on the album include Jennifer Hudson, Mary J. Blige, T-Pain, Robin Thicke, LL Cool J, John Legend, Snoop Dogg, Wyclef Jean, Q-Tip, Talib Kweli, Three 6 Mafia, David Banner, Bebe Winans, Mervyn Warren, Jermaine Dupri, DJ Paul, and Scott Storch.

“’Q: Soul Bossa Nostra’ features some of my favorite artists and producers on the scene today from the Pop, R&B and Hip-Hop worlds performing selections from my catalog that people really loved when they were originally recorded,” said Q, who also serves as the album’s executive producer. “Each artist picked a song that really resonated with them for different reasons – some of them having a connection because they remembered their parents playing the track when they were growing up.

“I am honored that everyone wanted to be a part of this celebration of these songs. They all made them their own, and knocked them out of the park.”

The set’s first single, available March 24, will be Akon’s interpretation of the 1977 Brothers Johnson classic “Strawberry Letter 23.”

The album will also include Jennifer Hudson (produced by Scott Storch) performing acclaimed songwriter Rod Temperton’s “You Put A Move On My Heart,” from Jones’ 1996 album ‘Q’s Jook Joint”; Ludacris and Naturally 7 (produced by Naturally 7) on the title track “Soul Bossa Nostra,” a hip-hop revamp of Jones’ 1962 single “Soul Bossa Nova” which was re-born as the “Austin Powers” theme song and was sampled by Ludacris on his 2005 single “Number One Spot” for which he garnered a VMA; and Usher, Robin Thicke, LL Cool J, Trey Songz, Tyrese and Tevin Campbell with Barry White’s original vocals (produced by Jermaine Dupri) on “Secret Garden,” originally recorded on 1989’s “Back On The Block.”

Additional tracks will feature Jamie Foxx (produced by David Banner and Warryn Campbell) on the Grammy Award-winning classic “Give Me The Night,” originally recorded in 1980 by Jones, George Benson and Rod Temperton; John Legend (produced by Ted Chung) on the Brothers Johnson/Siedah Garrett-penned ballad “Tomorrow,” from “Back On The Block”; T-Pain and Robin Thicke (produced by T-Pain) on a re-make of Michael Jackson, James Ingram and Jones’ Grammy nominated dance staple “P.Y.T.” from “Thriller”; Mary J. Blige and Q-Tip (produced by Q-Tip) on the funk classic “Betcha Wouldn’t Hurt Me,” originally written by Stevie Wonder for Jones’ multi-Grammy winning 1980 album “The Dude”; Bebe Winans (produced by Mervyn Warren) on Bernard Igher’s sultry “Everything Must Change” from Jones’ 1974 album “Body Heat” – the title track being sampled in 1996 by Dr. Dre and Tupac Shakur on their hit “How Do You Want It;” and Wyclef Jean on “Oluwa (Many Rains Ago),” Jones and Caiphus Semenya’s Emmy Award-winning title track from 1977’s hit television mini-series “Roots.”

Rounding out the album are performances by Snoop Dogg (produced by Terrence Martin) on the Brothers Johnson disco classic “Get The Funk Out Of My Face;” Talib Kweli (produced by Quincy Jones) on Jones’ synthesizer infused theme song from the 1967 television show “Ironside”; and Three 6 Mafia and David Banner (produced by David Banner) on “Hickky Burr (Wrath of Katrina),” Jones and Bill Cosby’s collaboration for the theme song of 1969’s “The Bill Cosby Show.”