*The African-American Film Critics Association will honor director Melvin Van Peebles, the late Lena Horne and film critic Roger Ebert at its second annual awards ceremony in December.

Van Peebles is best known for his 1971 film “Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song.” He also earned a Daytime Emmy in 1984 for penning the episode “The Day They Came to Arrest the Books” for “CBS Schoolbreak Special.”

Horne, who died in May at age 92, gained fame as a singer and for breakthrough roles in features “Cabin in the Sky” and “Stormy Weather.” She’ll be lauded for fighting efforts to cast her in stereotypical roles and for using her fame to advance the civil rights movement.

Ebert has written for the Chicago Sun-Times since 1967 and is among the most well-known film critics in the world.

The 2010 AAFCA Awards ceremony will take place Dec. 13 at the Ebony Repertory Theater in Los Angeles.