Denzel Washington in Spike Lee's "Malcolm X"

*Spike Lee’s 1992 biopic about Malcolm X and a 1959 film dramatization of a discussion between blacks and whites about jazz are among the images that will be preserved by the Library of Congress as part of its National Film Registry.

The 25 films selected this year include “Malcolm X,” which starred Denzel Washington as the civil rights leader, and “Cry of Jazz,” a 35-minute analysis of the origins of jazz – played out through black and white actors representing different points of view. [Scroll down to watch the entire film.]

Also joining the registry this year:  “The Empire Strikes Back,” “Saturday Night Fever,”  and “Airplane.”

The Library of Congress announced the selections early Tuesday. The goal of the registry, which began in 1989, isn’t to identify the best movies ever made, but to preserve films with artistic, cultural or historical significance.

Here’s the full list, as announced Tuesday by the Library of Congress:

“Airplane!” (1980)
“All the President’s Men” (1976)
“The Bargain” (1914)
“Cry of Jazz” (1959)
“Electronic Labyrinth: THX 1138 4EB” (1967)
“The Empire Strikes Back” (1980)
“The Exorcist (1973)
“The Front Page” (1931)
“Grey Gardens” (1976)
“I Am Joaquin” (1969)
“It’s a Gift” (1934)
“Let There Be Light” (1946)
“Lonesome” (1928)
“Make Way For Tomorrow” (1937)
“Malcolm X” (1992)
“McCabe & Mrs. Miller” (1971)
“Newark Athlete” (1891)
“Our Lady of the Sphere” (1969)
“The Pink Panther” (1964)
“Preservation of the Sign Language” (1913)
“Saturday Night Fever” (1977)
“Study of a River” (1966)
“Tarantella” (1940)
“A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” (1945)
“A Trip Down Market Street” (1906)

Below: “Cry of Jazz”