*”Private Practice” star Audra McDonald will join fellow Tony Award winner Liev Schreiber to announce the nominations for the 56th Annual Drama Desk Awards on May 2 at 9:30 a.m. ET at the New York Friars Club.

The 56th annual ceremony, which will feature musical numbers from the nominated New York stage productions, will be held May 23 at 8 p.m. at the Hammerstein Ballroom. There will be a gala sit-down dinner, prepared by celebrity chefs, during which the awards will be presented to outstanding productions and creative talent for the 2010-2011 season.

The Drama Desk Awards ceremony will be filmed in HD for a television special that will be given two primetime airings plus four additional national broadcasts on Ovation between June 2 and June 15.

Tony winner Harvey Fierstein, currently co-starring in La Cage aux Folles at the Longacre Theatre, will be the host of the awards ceremony and the TV special.