(l to r) Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee And Tawakkul Karman all received the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts in women's rights

*The Nobel Peace Prize is a coveted award that is normally awarded to one person for their efforts in securing the democracy and peace of the world.

Both Martin Luther King, Jr., and President Obama have received the award for their efforts to create peace  in society.

But this year, there was such overwhelming spirit for women’s rights throughout the world that the Norwegian committee that awards the prize had to split it three ways. (more…)