daft punk pharrell nile rodgers - grammys

Pharrell, Daft Punk & Nile Rodgers

*(Via LA Times) – French electronic duo Daft Punk’s “Random Access Memories” was named album of the year on Sunday to cap the 56th Grammy Awards, the Recording Academy voters singling out the dance-minded collection over nominated albums by singer-songwriter Sara Bareilles, rapper Kendrick Lamar, hip-hop duo Macklemore & Ryan Lewis and pop-country queen Taylor Swift.

The group also collected record of the year honors for “Get Lucky,” its romantically frisky collaboration with R&B producers-performers Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers.
Macklemore & Lewis, who delivered a breakthrough hit album, “The Heist,” fueled by hit singles “Thrift Shop” and a gay-rights anthem, “Same Love,” took four awards, including new artist and three rap category awards. “Same Love” played out in a performance by Macklemore and guest vocalists Madonna and Mary Lambert while singer-actress Queen Latifah presided over the nuptials.

“First and foremost, I want to thank our fans, the people that got on us on this stage,” rapper Macklemore, whose real name is Ben Haggerty, said in accepting with producer Lewis. “Before there was any media, before there was any buzz … it spread organically through them, and without them, there would be no us.”
Lorde collected song of the year honors for “Royals,” a pointed study in class consciousness she and songwriting partner Joel Little wrote just to see if they could attract anyone’s attention.

The opening performance by Beyonce of her “Drunk In Love,” with hubby Jay Z providing the midsong rap, was bleeped three times by network censors for expletives in the lyrics of her ode to steamy married sex. Lamar’s number with Imagine Dragons also was bleeped several times for language during their pyrotechnic-filled collaboration.

Get the FULL story at LA Times.