*Chris Brown breezes past artist with seven nominations, for the 2014 Soul Train Awards, followed by Beyonce with six nods and Pharrell with five.

EUR On The Scene at the red carpet to chat with first timer Sebastian, R&B crooner Shaliek, and director Mike Ho.

SebastianSebastian: This is my first time being at an awards show and the fact that I’m nominated makes it even more special! I’m nominated for ‘Best Independent R&B Soul Performance,’ which is incredible! This was the first single (‘The Past’) I ever put out and it’s incredible to see how everything has paid off…all the work we did.

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance nominees:

Joe – ‘Love & Sex Pt. 2’ ft. Kelly Rowland, Kelly Price – ‘It’s My Time,’ Liv Warfield – ‘Why Do You Lie?,’ Tone Trezure – ‘You’re the One,’ Terrace Martin – ‘You’re The One’ ft. Ty Dolla $ and Tone Trezure, Shaliek – ‘The Past,’ Sebastian Mikael – ‘Last Night’ ft. Wale


Shaliek: I released an album called, ‘Blood Sweat Tears,’ at the beginning of the year, under Pendulum Records with Ruben Rodriguez and so far it’s been going great! We’ve got two, top 15 singles, radio has been really supportive and we’re going on tour. And we’re nominated for two Soul Train Awards!

Centric Certified Award (music’s next superstars) nominees:

Kelis, Robert Glasper, Luke James, Leela James, Avery Sunshine, Shaliek

Mike HoMike Ho: I’m nominated for ‘Video of the Year’ with Chris Brown for ‘New Flame.’ We came together, collaborated and it came out amazing! When I’m directing and really into the record, I’ll be at the monitor (rocking his head) getting down! It was a serial-moment too because I’m watching it and I see Usher on the screen and I had to say to myself, ‘wait…that’s really Usher up there! And Chris too! And the water and dancing!’ I had to bring myself back and say, ‘this is really my work right now! How amazing!’

Video of the Year nominees:

‘Happy’ – Pharrell Williams (Video Director: We are from L.A.), ‘Drunk in Love’ Beyoncé ft. Jay Z (Video Director: Hype Williams), ‘The Worst’ Jhené Aiko (Video Director: Danny Williams), ‘New Flame’ -Chris Brown ft. Usher (Video Director: Breezy & Mike Ho), ‘The Man’ – Aloe Blacc (Video Director: Matty Barnes), ‘Good Kisser’ – Usher (Video Director: Christopher Sims)

Chris Brown The 2014 Soul Train Awards airs on Centric and BET on November 30 at 8 p.m. ET.