*(Via NBC News) – Chicago Police Supt. Eddie Johnson has filed termination charges for five Chicago police officers involved in the Laquan McDonald shooting following a report from the Inspector General’s office.

According to charging documents revealed Tuesday, officers Jason Van Dyke, Daphne Sebastian, Janet Mondragon, Ricardo Viramontes and Stephen Franko face administrative charges as the case moves to the Chicago Police Board.

Van Dyke, the officer who shot McDonald, has also been charged with first-degree murder by Cook County prosecutors. He has pleaded not guilty and his trial is expected to commence next year.

Van Dyke shot 17-year-old McDonald 16 times in 2014. Dashcam footage of the shooting, which appears to contradict the police account of what happened, was made public late last year and sparked outrage and protests nationwide.

Read/learn MORE at NBC News.

jason van dyke & laquan mcdonald